Skip to main content

Premium Pay for Workforce Recruitment and Retention

The application is now closed. Grantees, please read below for more information.

On March 16, 2022, Governor Scott authorized $60 million for certain health care and social service employers to provide premium pay for workforce recruitment and retention. These funds have been made available to the State of Vermont through the Federal Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Fund and Section 9817 of the American Rescue Plan Act.  The Agency of Human Services (AHS) is administering this program. 

See the 140 health care and social service employers awarded premium pay grants in 2022.

Note: Premium Pay for Independent Direct Support Providers is being administered by ARIS Solutions. 



Financial Reporting

Financial reporting ensures program integrity. The cadence depends on whether grantees elected to receive a lump sum or quarterly grant.

  • All grantees - You are now able to log in to your account and submit: 1) documentation of incurred eligible expenses, 2) signed Reporting Certifications.
    • Before submitting your financial reporting, please make sure you have:
      1. Documentation of incurred eligible expenses: you may choose any format that meets the minimum requirements below. 
      2. A signed and completed certifications document using this form: Premium Pay Reporting Certifications
    • At a minimum, we expect the uploaded financial reports to include:
      1. Names of employees or unique identifiers for each employee who received premium pay (Note: If you have more than one employee with the same name, please make sure you include additional unique identifiers for those individuals, such as employee number or birthdate)
      2. Date(s) each employee was paid
      3. How much each employee was paid
      4. Grand total of how much premium pay was disbursed
    • Ideally, the reports will also include:
      1. Subtotals of how much was paid to each employee
      2. Subtotals of how much was paid on each date
    • Including all the information above in an easy-to-understand format will enable state staff to more quickly review and approve your documentation and issue your next payment.
  • Lump sum recipients - Spend grant funds within 90 days of grant payment date; submit financial report no later than 14 days after 90-day period. 
  • Quarterly recipients - Submit financial reports within two weeks of end of quarter (e.g. report on grant funds expended from July 1 through September 30 by October 14)
    • Reports must be received by AHS to calculate and distribute the next quarterly payment.
    • Failure to submit quarterly report on time may result in grantees not receiving the next quarterly payment until after the next quarterly reporting cycle.
  • See September webinar slide deck or video (links in "Additional Support" below) for more information.

Evaluation Reporting

Evaluation reporting will help policymakers better understand the impact of the program

  • All grantees (both lump sum and quarterly recipients) to submit at mid-point and end of program; once in early January 2023 (no later than January 16) and once in early July 2023 (no later than July 15)
  • Forms, instructions, and Q+A to be discussed in webinar on December 7 at 12 noon



Program Documents

Additional Support


Grantees: please add AHS.WorkforceGrant at Vermont dot gov to your contact list to ensure grant emails don't go to your junk email box. You can also login to your application/grant account.


Can't find answers to your question in the materials above?

Submit an inquiry through the program’s Question Submission Form