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Changes to Prior Authorization Requirements  
 
Policy Summary:   
The Vermont Medicaid program is making changes to prior authorization requirements for 
chiropractic services, rehabilitative therapy (physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech 
therapy), durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS), and dental 
services. These changes are being made as a result of Act 140 of the 2020 Vermont legislative 
session.  
 
For adult chiropractic services, the utilization threshold has increased from 10 treatments to 12 
treatments before requiring prior authorization. For pediatric chiropractic services, pediatric 
chiropractic providers with identified credentials (Doctor of Chiropractic [DC], certification by 
the Academy Council of Chiropractic Pediatrics [ACCP]) no longer need to submit prior 
authorizations for children ages six through 11. Prior authorization requirements have been 
reinstated for Accountable Care Organization (ACO)-attributed members and will follow the 
new requirements as described here. This change will be submitted to the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) as State Plan Amendment (SPA) #23-0001. 
 
For pediatric physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy services, the number of 
visits allowed prior to seeking authorization has increased from eight visits to 30 visits to align 
with current adult requirements. Prior authorization requirements have been reinstated for ACO-
attributed members and will follow the new requirements as described here. This change will be 
submitted to CMS as SPA #23-0003. 
 
For durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies, prior authorization is not 
required except for miscellaneous codes and codes on the imminent harm list. Service limits 
posted on the Department of Vermont Health Access website remain in effect. This applies to all 
members (ACO-attributed and non-ACO-attributed).  
 
For dental services, prior authorizations are not required except for orthodontics and items on the 
list of codes posted on the Department of Vermont Health Access website.  
 
See additional information below.  
 
Effective Date: 
January 1, 2023   

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/ACTS/ACT140/ACT140%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/ACTS/ACT140/ACT140%20As%20Enacted.pdf


  

 

 
Authority/Legal Basis:     
Medicaid State Plan 
 
Act 140 of the 2020 Vermont legislative session  
 
Population Affected:  
All Medicaid 
     
Fiscal Impact:  
This change is expected to be budget neutral. 
 
Public Comment Period: 
The public comment period ended December 2, 2022. A copy of the comments received and the 
response to comments can be viewed at these links.  
 
To be added to the GCR email list, send an email to AHS.MedicaidPolicy@vermont.gov.  
 
Additional Information:  
 
Act 140 legislative report “Clinical Prior Authorization Requirements in the Vermont Medicaid 
Program: Findings and Recommendations”. 

Vermont Medicaid Fee Schedule includes information on the code coverage and if the code 
requires a prior authorization.  
 
The Imminent Harm Code List includes services that require a Prior Authorization. 
 
The draft SPA provides additional details on the proposed changes; copies of the draft SPA can 
be requested from local Department for Children and Families (DCF) offices or from the 
Department of Vermont Health Access (DVHA) at (802) 355-8843, or can be found on the 
Agency of Human Services website.  
 

https://humanservices.vermont.gov/about-us/medicaid-administration/medicaid-state-plan
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/ACTS/ACT140/ACT140%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://humanservices.vermont.gov/sites/ahsnew/files/doc_library/22-101-Comments-Received-PA-Changes.pdf
https://humanservices.vermont.gov/sites/ahsnew/files/doc_library/22-101-PA-Changes-Response-to-Comments.pdf
mailto:AHS.MedicaidPolicy@vermont.gov
https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Legislative-Reports/DVHA_Act-140-of-2020_Prior-Authorizations-Report_Final-with-Appendices.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Legislative-Reports/DVHA_Act-140-of-2020_Prior-Authorizations-Report_Final-with-Appendices.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Legislative-Reports/DVHA_Act-140-of-2020_Prior-Authorizations-Report_Final-with-Appendices.pdf
https://dvha.vermont.gov/document/imminent-harm-list
https://humanservices.vermont.gov/about-us/medicaid-administration/global-commitment-register/proposed-policies
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